What's New - Festival Highs

Indian Film Festival of Melbourne announces its finest

by Gehna Kapany


The nine-day film festival commenced with the magnificent awards ceremony honouring the exceptional work and continued contribution of several cinema luminaries.

The jury comprised of globally renowned stalwarts who stood out by way of their immense contribution towards cinema. Ace director, producer and film writer, Fred Schepisi; Australian film editor with titles like 'Order of Australia' and 'The Dressmaker' accredited to her name, Jill Bilcock; India’s renowned film critic and columnist, Rajeev Masand; actress, writer and producer, Victoria Hill; and Australian Film Institute Award-winning  film, theatre and television actor, Vince Colosimo were members of the prestigious jury. 

The IFFM Best Short Film was shared among 'My Name Is Mohamed and Raghad, We Don’t Exist Here Anymore' by Ali Mousawi and 'Be My Brother' by Genevieve Clay. Onir was awarded the Diversity Award and the Telstra People’s Choice Award was bagged by 'Simmba'. The honorary award of PWC Equality in Cinema was awarded to 'Chuskit' and 'Super Deluxe'.  'Andhadhun' received its well-deserved commendation as Sriram Raghavan won Best Director and Tabu was presented the Best Actress Award for her exemplary role in the film. Nominated alongside adept actors like Amitabh Bachhan, Ranveer Singh, Vicky Kaushal, the Best Actor Award was bagged by  Vijay Sethupathi for his role in 'Super Deluxe'. Adding to its existing motley of accolades, 'Bulbul Can Sing' won the Best Indie Film and 'Gully Boy' was announced Best Film. 

Shah Rukh Khan was invited as the chief guest to the festival and was felicitated with 'Excellence in Cinema' as a mark of honouring his exceptional and loyal service to the industry. Karan Johar was also bestowed with an award to celebrate 20 years of 'Kuch Kuch Hota Hai'.