TIFF Talent

21-Mar-2022 To 25-Mar-2022

TIFF Bell Lightbox , Canada

Applications open for writers

Apply now for TIFF Writers’ Studio 2022 and the TIFF–CBC Films Screenwriter Award

Applications are now open for two exciting talent development opportunities for writers:

TIFF Writers’ Studio 2022, which will take place in person at TIFF Bell Lightbox in March 2022

The TIFF–CBC Films Screenwriter Award, which will grant $15,000 to an eligible Canadian screenwriter

Read on for more details, and be sure to get your applications in by January 3!


TALENT DEVELOPMENT : TIFF Writers’ Studio 2022

Applications open until January 3 for Canadian and international screenwriters

Since 2012, TIFF Writers’ Studio has provided participants with a fulsome, curated experience through a unique integration of public and private programming.

TIFF are excited to return to their five-day intensive lab in person March 21–25, 2022 at TIFF Bell Lightbox.
Participants are supported to take their careers and projects to the next level as they participate in workshops, panel discussions, peer-to-peer mentorship, and one-on-one project development consultations guided by industry experts.

Introducing the Renee Perlmutter Memorial Fellowship for Literary Adaptation. A new addition to Writers' Studio 2022, one applicant focusing on adapting literary work for the screen will be selected to participate in the programme. The recipient of the Renee Perlmutter Memorial Fellowship will receive an additional $3,000 grant toward developing their project.

TIFF invites both Canadian and international screenwriters and writer-directors to apply by January 3.

Apply now

Key Dates

Applications open November 17

Applications close January 3

Participants notified February 21

Project draft due February 21

Participants announced March 1

TIFF Writers’ Studio Lab March 21–25



A Canadian screenwriter will be awarded $15,000

The TIFF–CBC Films Screenwriter Award will provide $15,000 to a Canadian writer of an outstanding feature-film screenplay, supporting them to develop their project.

The Award is open to experienced screenwriters who identify as women, as belonging to an equity-seeking group, and/or as a person with a disability.

Applicants must also have a writer or director credit on a feature film that has been presented at one of this Award’s recognized festivals.

Eligible applicants to apply by January 3.

The winner of the 2021 Award was Melanie Jones, for her screenplay Switchback.

Apply now

Key Dates

Applications open November 17

Applications close January 3

Winner notified by February 25