What's New - Festival Highs

IFFI Goa 2019 Awards

Team OGS


The 50th edition of the International Film Festival of India concluded on November 28, 2019.  The festival screened over 200 films from 76 countries, including 26 features and 15 non-feature films from India. The main award winners from India included director Lijo Jose Pellissery, actor Usha Jadhav, and director Abhishek Shah. 

Best Director: Lijo Jose Pellissery for ‘Jallikattu’
Pellissery’s Malayalam film is set in a remote village in his hometown, Trissur, and is about a buffalo’s frantic attempt to free itself from the frenzied ferocity of those want to capture it. The film unfurls with sizzling energy and reflects on mankind’s innate and relentless savagery, one that equals that of the animal world. The jury said that they honour the “intricate and complex choreography of this very original and anarchic film”. The Best Director gets the Silver Peacock Award, a citation and a cash prize of INR 15,00,000.

Best Actor (Female): Usha Jadhav
Usha Jadhav won for her portrayal of  ‘Prabha Mai’ in the Marathi film ‘Mai Ghatt: Crime No. 103/2005’. Jadhav got the coveted prize for her “understated and powerful performance of a mother defending her child’s honour against the injustice of a corrupt system”. Both Best Actor (Male) and Best Actor (Female) are honoured with the Silver Peacock Trophy, certificate and a cash prize of INR 10,00,000 each.

Special mention for ‘Hellaro’
‘Hellaro’ directed by Abhishek Shah won a special mention from the jury for the “incredible music, it’s colour and graceful choreography”. Though set 45 years ago, the issue of woman’s empowerment raised by the film is even more relevant today, said the jury.

On the international front, ‘Particles’ directed by Blaise Harrison and produced by Estelle Fialon won the Golden Peacock Award endowed with a prize of INR 40,00,000, equally shared between the director and producer. The Best Actor (Male) award went to Seu Jorge for the Brazilian movie ‘Marighella’, while the Pema Tseden’s ‘Balloon’ won the Special Jury Award endowed with a prize of INR 15,00,000 and a silver peacock trophy. 

The Centenary Award for ‘Best Debut Feature Film of a Director’ was shared by Amin Sidi Boumediene for ‘Abou Leila’ and Marius Olteanu for ‘Monsters’. ‘Abou Leila’ tells the tale of two childhood friends who crossed the desert in search of Abu Leila, a dangerous terrorist. ‘Monsters’ is a relationship drama in three chapters that describes the current state of a couple over 24 hours. The award carries a Silver Peacock trophy, a certificate and a prize of INR 10,00,000. 

The ICFT–UNESCO Gandhi Medal went to the Italian film ‘Rwanda’ directed by Riccardo Salvetti. The medal is instituted by the International Council for Film, Television and Audiovisual Communication, Paris and UNESCO, and bears a portrait of Gandhi engraved by the French artist Pierre-Yves Tremois, along with the Mahatma’s message: “In the midst of darkness light prevails”. From India, ‘Bahattar Hoorain’ directed by Sanjay P. Singh received a special mention in the ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi medal category.

For the complete list of awards: https://iffigoa.org/#awards